Expatriate Welshman and local motorcycle identity Taffy Williams was the driving force behind the Motor Cycle Club of Canberra’s decision to promote Trials in 1970. Their first Open Trial was conducted in 1971 at Whiterocks just outside Queanbeyan. Rounds of the NSW Trials Championships were run in 1976, and then every year from 1978 to 2009, and again in 2011.  The Club also ran an extremely successful Australian Observed Trials Championship in 1979 in Stromlo Forest. The entire Trials membership of the MCC of Canberra decided to form a specialist Trials club and on the 1st July 1984 the Trials Club of Canberra Inc. assumed the mantle of Observed Trials promoter in the Canberra region. TCC currently runs 5 TRA Interclub Trials and 2 Open Trials during a season running from February through to November. The venues range from Murringo, near Young, to Top Naas Homestead, past Tharwa, and are provided through the generosity of local landholders. TCC also has an area within Fairbairn Park in Pialligo Avenue, Majura, that is a legal permanent practice area. We also promoted the Masters Shield at one Open Trial each year since 1999. The name was formally changed to the Howard Wallace Masters Shield to honour the memory of club stalwart Howard Wallace after his passing as a result of Moto Neurone Disease. With the Licenced Officials program kicking off in 1994 the club has encouraged many members to obtain their Officials licence. TCC Life Member Trevor Bennett has been an Officials seminar presenter for MNSW since 1997. The Club currently has a number of Level 1 to Level 4 Licenced Moto Trials Officials in its ranks.
Trevor Bennett – Life member
Riders from the Trials Club of Canberra have competed at every Australian Trials Championship since 1984. TCC has always been very much a family orientated club with a strong Junior contingent. This is reflected in the ten NSW Junior Trials Championship victories since 1984. TCC members have represented Australia in both Mens and Womens TdN Teams, as well as the Australian Team in the Oceania Trial previously known as the Trans Tasman Shield.